Robert Plant at ACLTV 3/21/2016

Of course, at this point, “Rock and Roll” kind of IS an old English folk song. One of five tracks in the set that dated back to Led Zeppelin’s landmark first four albums, it’s nearly half a century old now. At 67, Plant has grown well beyond his rock star days, and yet those old songs seem to have caught up with him, sounding revitalized in the context he now places them alongside the more recent work he’s created with the Space Shifters.

The set drew four songs from “Lullaby and the Ceaseless Roar,” the 2014 album that Plant and this six-piece crew — guitarists Liam Tyson and Justin Adams, bassist Billy Fuller, keyboardist John Baggot, drummer Dave Smith and multi-instrumentalist Juldeh Camara — have been supporting on the road for the past two years. That album’s title hinted at the show’s dynamic range, with the roar of tunes such as “Turn It Up” and the Led Zep opener “The Lemon Song” tempered at times by more acoustic fare such as “In the Mood” and “Babe, I’m Gonna Leave You.” - [Austin360]

Robert Plant and the Sensational Space Shifters were in Austin for SXSW (he made an appearance at the Austin Music Awards) and then played ACL Live at Moody Theatre on Sunday, March 20 and then returned to the venue on Monday (3/21) to tape an episode of Austin City Limits. The performance was live streamed on ACL's website and an edited version will air later this year on PBS. We've got pictures of their ACLTV set, which you can check out, along with their setlist, below.


Robert Plant an the Sensational Space Shifters — 3/21/2016 ACL Live Setlist
1. The Lemon Song
2. Rainbow
3. Black Dog
4. Turn It Up
5. Spoonful
6. In the Mood
7. No Place to Go
8. Babe, I’m Gonna Leave You
9. Little Maggie
10. Fixin’ to Die
11. Whole Lotta Love
12. Rainbow (retake)
13. Satan Your Kingdom Must Come Down/Poor Howard
14. Rock and Roll